12。 三月2018 奧利弗Bienkowski

達芙妮Caruana Galizia

#PixelHELPER讚揚€100,000的有關逮捕達芙妮卡魯阿加利濟亞的支持者的信息。 請在pixelhelper.org/en/donate上支持我們的活動

“用他人的鮮血寫成的宣言”-這就是美國歷史學家邁克·戴維斯(Mike Davis)所說的汽車炸彈。 最新的宣言包括Semtex(也稱為塑料炸藥),它附著在馬耳他首都以西108公里處的309名居民Bidnija的車道上的白色標致XNUMX地板上。

16月53日,現年270歲的達芙妮·卡魯阿娜·加利齊亞(Daphne Caruana Galizia)駕著汽車駛了過去。 她駕駛碎石路到主要道路,向左轉,沿著山坡走去,從那裡可以看到遙遠的大海,經過一個小小的野外垃圾場和一個15.04碼的西葫蘆田野,到了一個紅邊路標刺猬要求駕駛員不要弄平他的對等物。 研究人員認為,爆炸是由手機引發的。 標致100:29時,標致的遺跡在距離公路XNUMX公里的地方。 三天后在瓦萊塔市Mater-Dei醫院檢查加利齊亞屍體的XNUMX名荷蘭法醫科學家對此一無所知。 該國最著名,最模棱兩可的記者的遺體幾乎沒有。 她去世前XNUMX分鐘在博客上發表了自己的遺言:“無論您在哪裡看,到處都有騙子。 真是絕望。”

[gallery_bank類型=“圖像”格式=“砌體”標題=“真” desc =“假”響應=“真”顯示=“已選擇” no_of_images =“ 13”“ sort_by =”隨機“ animation_effect =”反彈“ album_title =” true” album_id =” 19”]

一周後,加利西亞的三個兒子在斯特拉斯堡的歐洲議會中辯論了他們母親被謀殺關於馬耳他以及歐盟的言論。 綠色MP Sven Giegold帶麥克風。 達芙妮在街上被殺。 沒有躲藏的地方,他們的殺手甚至沒有試圖使襲擊看起來像是一次意外。 相反,這是權力的殘酷展示,”他說。 很明顯,炸彈為什麼不在警察局長或檢察長的車底下:“是達芙妮闡明了馬耳他的洗錢和腐敗制度,而不是這些當局。”

在斯特拉斯堡舉行紀念活動時,意大利反黑手黨委員會負責人Rosy Bindi進入位於瓦萊塔城牆的Excelsior Hotel。 幾天來,委員會一直在馬耳他進行訪問,原本計劃進行很長時間,但是現在,在博客被暗殺之後,人們的興趣很大。 Bindi被固定有西裝的保鏢包圍,他們的西裝將透明的電纜擰入耳罩,Bindi坐在一張桌子旁,看著正在沉重的皮革扶手椅中等候他們的記者。 Bindi說,黑手黨將馬耳他視為“一個小天堂”。 “可能提供在馬耳他開業的金融服務提供商”也是“問題的一部分”。

對於馬耳他而言,賓迪的聲明是一個問題。 她幾十年來一直是意大利黑手黨的專家,因此她的話很有分量。 自刺殺加利西亞以來,馬耳他一直在為自己的聲譽而戰。

正如它在島上所說的那樣,謀殺她是一個什麼樣的宣言,那些認真對待犯罪的人對馬耳他不再有把握。

Giegold從事逃稅活動已有數十年,並且了解Galizia的研究,他呼籲派遣國際調查人員。 他呼籲社會主義總理約瑟夫·馬斯喀特辭職,並確保歐洲議會希望派代表團前往馬耳他“恢復法治”。
種族滅絕光藝術PixelHELPER達芙妮

兩年內五輛汽車炸彈
她不是唯一以這種方式看到它的人。 如果這些天在島國報導,那麼黑錢就被談論到信箱公司,避稅天堂,與阿塞拜疆的黑線聯繫,走私石油,通行證銷售和在線賭博。 加利茲的最偉大歷史也為此做出了貢獻。 她的兒子Mathew在研究網絡IJIC工作,該網絡發布了2016年巴拿馬論文。 關於他,加利齊亞收到了有關馬耳他的文件。 她發現,馬斯喀特內閣總理基思·斯基姆布里(Keith Schembri)和他的同事康拉德·米齊(Konrad Mizzi)(第一能源,現為旅遊部長)在英屬維爾京群島和巴拿馬擁有掩護公司。 所有這些現在都變成了一片淒涼的畫面,其中可疑的政治家私人企業,有爭議的公共收入來源和有組織犯罪之間的界限似乎正在消失。

這是一張無車的,沙色的舊城區,將在九週內成為歐洲的文化之都,這與瓦萊塔郊區到處都是商人和曬黑的學生不符,這是一座無與倫比的露天中世紀博物館,每天數以萬計的遊客帶著五顏六色的三角旗,像標準的十字軍一樣跟隨著導遊,然後在晚上,在海灣另一側的聖朱利安,對噴霧劑,紅酒中的野兔和像品脫一樣的小費酒感到滿意Cisk營地。

然後,其中一些人將監視喬納森·弗里斯(Jonathan Ferris)。 加利西亞(Galizia)死後的第八天,他戴著薄眼鏡坐在藍色西裝中,坐在威斯汀·德拉貢拉(Westin Dragonara)的大廳裡。 在玻璃幕牆的後面,海浪撞擊岩石,在沙發上坐著穿著水手服的富裕家庭。 費里斯(Ferris)是這家五星級酒店的安全負責人,這表明馬耳他的情況並沒有如願以償。

因為直到一年前還是摩天警官,負責洗錢。 他說,加利齊亞的博客一直在幫助他進行調查。 “她知道我們不知道的事情。 人們更信任新聞工作者,就像警察一樣。 “費里斯在中國布魯塞爾受過良好教育,在德國德國,他調任了卡扎菲的會計師。2016年2016月,他作為部門負責人移居馬耳他反洗錢局(FIAU)。 在2017年XNUMX月至XNUMX年XNUMX月之間,撰寫了四篇關於涉嫌對政府官員腐敗的報告。 弗里斯說,所有這些都是基於加利西亞的研究。 如果他要關注細節,谁愿意跟隨他需要時間。

FIAU的調查摘要如下:內閣官房長Keith Schembri還利用他在巴拿馬的郵箱公司藏了100,000歐元,這是他從向俄羅斯人出售三本馬耳他護照時獲得的。 他還向馬耳他一家報紙的經理行賄五十萬歐元。 弗里斯認為,Schembri希望確保政府報紙保持稱重。 同時,他想確保紙繼續從他那裡收到她的紙,因為在第二職業中,Schembri還是紙批發商。 並且:Schembri和前能源部長Konrad Mizzi從一家在馬耳他從事液化天然氣貿易的公司從迪拜受賄。 這筆錢也流到了兩家的信箱公司。 Galizia的最後一篇博客文章“無處不在的騙子”都提到了這些企業。

種族滅絕光藝術PixelHELPER達芙妮

1.07用於天然氣合同的百萬歐元?
Schembri和Mizzi否認一切。 許多人對馬耳他的法治感到懷疑:FIAU的報告甚至沒有被當局發送給警察,也沒有被當局直接歸檔。 他們沒有任何後果。

報導涉及的是Ferris,他的同事Charles Cronin或FIAU前老闆Manfred Galdez。 沒人在辦公室了。 蓋爾德(Galdez)據說是靠自己退休的。 16年2017月XNUMX日,他的繼任者Ferris和Cronin手裡拿著一個白色信封,上面有通知。 “我不知道原因,”費里斯說。 從那時起,他只能吃藥入睡。 FIAU告訴taz,“出於“性能原因”,解僱Ferris和Cronin的最大利益”。

費里斯說,如果他留在FIAU,他將追隨加利齊亞的最後一段偉大歷史。 關於總理的妻子米歇爾·馬斯喀特(Michelle Muscat)。 他們的公司Egrant在巴拿馬的帳戶應該從阿塞拜疆流到了1.07萬歐元,理由是馬耳他和阿塞拜疆簽署了為期18年的天然氣供應合同。 費里斯認為:“他們想阻止這項調查。” 他已起訴反腐敗當局恢復他的職務。

FIAU的報告甚至是眾所周知的,是由於一個人自稱為“達芙妮的政治對手”,並且是他們的知己。 西蒙·布蘇蒂爾(Simon Busuttil)是唯一反對黨保守黨PN的代表。 一個有著美國電視佈道者風格和聲音的人,他的太陽穴在翻領上呈黑色的哀悼花邊,呈斑點狀。 他說:“新聞只能通過WhatsApp來發布。” “我的電話正在監視中。” 在國會大廈的反對派會議室迎接遊客,這是一​​個類似水族館的空間,盤旋在瓦萊塔的步行街上。

撤退不再有效
隨著加利齊亞剷除越來越多的反對政府的材料,馬斯喀特總理更傾向於選舉至去年六月。 Busuttil是反對派的頭號​​候選人。 有人把FIAU報告給他。 Busuttil在媒體面前津津樂道地傳播了所有細節。 它沒有幫助:馬耳他人仍然忠於馬斯喀特。 Busuttil輸了,這可能是由於馬耳他的經濟蓬勃發展。 他說:“在那之後,我想慢慢退出政治。” “但是現在,在她去世之後,一切都不同了。”

XNUMX月,Busuttil起訴警察對部長進行調查。 Schembri和Mizzi提出了異議。 “如果我輸了,我會去斯特拉斯堡,”布蘇蒂爾說。 他想完成Galizia的工作。

博主嚴厲攻擊了馬斯喀特,政府其他部門以及反對派的大部分地區。 附有“精彩文章”,就連執政黨PL總部中最大的敵人也說過。 部分涉及人身攻擊和有關她性生活的文字。 但是馬耳他沒有人嚴肅地相信將炸彈塞在她的汽車下面是腐敗的政客。

在馬耳他和意大利最常聽到的理論是,加利西亞已介入黑手黨從利比亞向南歐走私石油的追求。 過去兩年來,馬耳他發生了五起汽車炸彈襲擊事件,其受害者來自犯罪環境,這一假設得到了支持。 沒有人被告知。 每次使用Semtex。 例如,這是在利比亞祖瓦拉(Libyan Zuwara)生產的。

反對派不是沒有影響的
然而,馬耳他的許多人認為馬斯喀特應為加利西亞的死亡負責並辭職。 沒什麼大不了的,因為警察沒有保護加利西亞。 實際上,博客作者過去曾拒絕警察保護,因為她擔心這會影響她的工作。 為捍衛對馬斯喀特,加利齊亞的家人,反對派和馬耳他新聞工作者的指控,歐洲議會議員布圖蒂爾表示:“只要允許腐敗的部長繼續任職,就不能對腐敗採取任何行動。” 為了容忍他們的生意,國家正在削弱機構,從而容忍有組織犯罪分子的生意。

但是,在這種情況下,反對派並非沒有參與。 馬耳他在經濟上依靠極低的公司稅,在線賭博行業以及向富裕外國人出售護照的方式。 Busuttils PN對此做出了貢獻。 “馬耳他已將其主權出售給了骯髒的錢,”格林·吉戈爾德說。 “它已經用政治和金融精英之間的有罪不罰和任人唯親的文化代替了法治。”

在馬耳他的Casinostadt St. Julians,Mayfair大廈是島上眾多寫字樓之一,

12. März 2018 OliverBienkowski

Daphne Caruana Galizia

#PixelHELPER praises € 100,000 for information leading to the arrest of the backers of the murderers of Daphne Caruana Galizia. Please support our campaign at pixelhelper.org/en/donate

“Manifesto written with the blood of others” – that’s what American historian Mike Davis called the car bomb. The latest of these manifestos consisted of Semtex, also called plastic explosives, attached to the floor of a white Peugeot 108 in a driveway in Bidnija, 309 inhabitants, eleven kilometers west of Malta’s capital Valletta.

On October 16, Daphne Caruana Galizia, 53 years old, is behind the wheel of her car. She drives the gravel road to the main road, turns left, down the hill from where the distant glimmer of the sea can be seen, past a small, wild landfill and a zucchini field, 270 yards, to a red-rimmed sign, on which a hedgehog asks the driver not to flatten his equals. The explosion, the investigators believe, is triggered by mobile phone. At 15.04 clock the remains of the Peugeots are 100 meters further on a field, right next to the road. The seven Dutch forensic scientists who inspect Galizia’s body three days later in Valletta’s Mater-Dei hospital do not get much to see. There is little left of the body of the country’s best known and most ambiguous journalist. She had posted her last words on her blog 29 minutes before her death: “No matter where you look, there are crooks everywhere. It is to despair.”

Daphne Caruana Galizia

A week later, the three sons of Galicia are in the European Parliament in Strasbourg, debating what the murder of their mother says about Malta and possibly about the EU. The Green MP Sven Giegold takes the microphone. “Daphne was killed in the street. There was no hiding place, their killers did not even try to make the attack look like an accident. On the contrary, this was a brutal demonstration of power, “he says. It was clear why the bomb was not under the police chief or attorney general’s car: “It was Daphne who shed light on the system of money laundering and corruption in Malta – it was not these authorities.”

While the commemoration is taking place in Strasbourg, Rosy Bindi, head of the Italian Anti-Mafia Commission, enters the Excelsior Hotel on the ramparts of Valletta. For days, the Commission was on Malta, the visit was planned for a long time, but now, after the assassination of the blogger, the interest is huge. Surrounded by smooth-set bodyguards, whose suits screw transparent cables into their earcups, Bindi sits down at a table and looks at the journalists, who have been waiting for them in heavy leather armchairs. The mafia, says Bindi, sees Malta as “a little paradise”. And “financial service providers who could offer to open businesses in Malta” are also “part of the problem”.

For Malta, Bindi’s statements are a problem. She has been an expert on the Italian mafia for decades, so her word has weight. Malta has been fighting for its reputation since the assassination of Galicia.

The murder of her, as many see it on the island, was a manifesto that those who are serious about the fight against crime are no longer sure about Malta.

Giegold, who has been involved in tax evasion for decades and knows Galizia’s research, is calling for international investigators to be sent. He calls for the resignation of Socialist Prime Minister Joseph Muscat and ensures that the European Parliament wants to send a delegation to Malta to “restore the rule of law”.
Völkermord Lichtkunst PixelHELPER für Daphne

Five car bombs in two years
She is not the only one who sees it that way. If these days are reported on the island state, then black money is talked of letterbox companies, tax havens, a dark connection Azerbaijan, oil smuggling, pass sales and online gambling. Galizia’s greatest history has also contributed to this. Her son Mathew works at the research network IJIC, which unveiled the 2016 Panama Papers. About him Galizia received the documents concerning Malta. She discovered that Keith Schembri, cabinet chief of Prime Minister Muscat, and his colleague Konrad Mizzi – first energy, now tourism minister – maintained cover companies in the British Virgin Islands and Panama. All of this is now merging into a bleak picture, in which the boundaries between dubious private businesses of politicians, disputed public revenue streams and organized crime seem to dissolve.

It is a picture that mismatches the suburbs of Valletta, full of businessmen and tanned students, with the car-free, sand-colored old town that will become Europe’s cultural capital in nine weeks – an unmatched open-air medieval museum through which every day Tens of thousands of tourists follow the guides with their colorful pennants like crusaders of their standard, then in the evenings, in St. Julian, on the other side of the bay, satisfied with the spray, hare in red wine and tipping pint-like Cisk camp.

Some of them then watch over Jonathan Ferris. On the eighth day after Galizia’s death, he sits with thin glasses in a blue suit in the lobby of the Westin Dragonara. Behind the glass facade, the waves hit the rocks, on the sofas sit well-heeled families in sailor’s dress. Ferris is the security chief of the five-star hotel, and this suggests that things are not going the way they should in Malta.

Because until a year ago was Ferris police officer, responsible for money laundering. Galizia’s blog, he says, has always helped him with investigations. “She knew things we did not know. People trust journalists more like police officers. “Ferris educated colleagues in Brussels, China, Germany, he transferred Gaddaffi’s accountant, in November 2016, he moves as a department head to the Maltese Anti-Money Laundering Authority (FIAU). Between March 2016 and July 2017, the four reports on suspected corruption against government officials has written. All, says Ferris, were based on research by Galizia. Who wants to follow him, if he goes into the details, takes time.

The summary of the FIAU investigations goes like this: Cabinet chief Keith Schembri also used his mailbox company in Panama to hide 100,000 euros, which he received from the sale of three Maltese passports to Russians. He also paid half a million euros in bribes to a Maltese newspaper manager. Ferris believes that Schembri wanted to ensure that the government’s newspaper remains weighed. At the same time he wanted to make sure that the paper continues to receive her paper from him, because in the secondary occupation Schembri is also a paper wholesaler. And: Schembri and former Energy Minister Konrad Mizzi got bribes from Dubai from a company that trades liquefied gas in Malta. This money was also flowed to the letterbox companies of the two. Galizia’s last blog entry “Everywhere are crooks” referred to these businesses.

Völkermord Lichtkunst PixelHELPER für Daphne

1.07 million euros for gas contracts?
Schembri and Mizzi deny everything. What leaves many in doubt about the rule of law in Malta: The reports of the FIAU were either not even sent to the police – or directly filed by the authorities – by the authorities. They had no consequences.

The reports involved either Ferris, his colleague Charles Cronin or the former FIAU boss Manfred Galdez. Nobody is in office anymore. Galdez went, supposedly on his own, in early retirement. On 16 June 2017, his successor Ferris and Cronin pressed a white envelope with their notice in the hand. “I never knew the reason,” says Ferris. Since then he could only fall asleep with pills. The FIAU tells the taz that it has “in its best interest to dismiss Ferris and Cronin for” performance reasons “.

If he had stayed with the FIAU, he would have followed the last great history of Galizia, says Ferris. It was about Michelle Muscat, the premier’s wife. The account of their company Egrant in Panama should have flowed from Azerbaijan to 1.07 million euros – justament after Malta and Azerbaijan had signed a contract for gas supplies with 18 years. “They wanted to prevent this investigation,” Ferris believes. He has sued the anti-corruption authority to reinstate him.

That the FIAU reports were even known, is due to a man who calls himself “the counterpart of Daphne in politics” and was their confidant. Simon Busuttil is a deputy of the conservative PN, the only opposition party; a man with the style and voice of a US television preacher, his temples mottled, black mourning lace on the lapel. “News only via WhatsApp,” he says. “My phone is being monitored.” Visitors are greeted in the Opposition’s conference room in the Houses of Parliament, an aquarium-like space that hovers over Valletta’s pedestrian street.

Retreat is no longer valid
As Galizia eradicated more and more material against the government, Prime Minister Muscat preferred the elections to last June. Busuttil was the top candidate of the opposition. Someone put the FIAU reports to him. Busuttil spread all the details with relish in front of the press. It did not help: the Maltese remained loyal to Muscat. Busuttil lost, which may have been due to the fact that Malta’s economy is booming. “After that, I wanted to slowly withdraw from politics,” he says. “But now, after her death, everything is different.”

In July, Busuttil has sued for the police to investigate the ministers. Schembri and Mizzi have filed an objection. “If I lose, I’ll go to Strasbourg,” says Busuttil. He wants to finish Galizia’s work.

The blogger has heavily attacked Muscat, the rest of the government, as well as large sections of the opposition. Part with “brilliant articles”, as even their worst enemies in the headquarters of the ruling party PL say. Partly with personal attacks and texts about her sexual life. But nobody in Malta seriously believes that it was corrupt politicians who stuck the bomb under her car.

The theory most commonly heard in Malta – and Italy – is that Galicia has stepped in the mafia’s quest to smuggle oil from Libya to southern Europe. This assumption is supported by the fact that in the past two years there have been five car bomb attacks in Malta whose victims are from the criminal milieu. No one was informed. Every time Semtex was used. This is produced, for example, in the Libyan Zuwara – where the smuggling oil comes from.

The opposition is not uninvolved
Nevertheless, many in Malta find Muscat to be responsible for Galicia’s death and to resign. Not so much because the police did not protect Galizia. In fact, the blogger has in the past rejected police protection because she feared that this would affect her work. Defending the allegation against Muscat, Galizia’s family, the opposition and Maltese journalists, MEP Busuttil states: “You can not do anything against corruption as long as corrupt ministers are allowed to remain in office.” In order to tolerate their business, the state is weakening Institutions – and thus tolerate the business of organized criminals.

However, the opposition is not uninvolved in the circumstances. Malta relies economically on extremely low corporate taxes, the online gambling industry and the sale of passports to wealthy foreigners. Busuttils PN contributes that. “Malta has sold its sovereignty to dirty money,” says Green Giegold. “It has replaced the rule of law with a culture of impunity and cronyism between political and financial elites.”

In the Casinostadt St. Julians in Malta stands the Mayfair complex, one of the many office buildings on the island,