17. January 2020 Oliver Bienkowski

Independence from HongKong / Anti China campaign

The end of Hong Kong as you know it

China is taking legal action for the first time to subdue the former British crown colony. The Chinese leadership is reviving the protest movement and challenging the western world.

The Chinese People's Congress passes the #HongKong Security Law, which de facto buries “One Country, Two Systems” and democracy. Light projection on the flag of Germany #Bundestag #Bundesregierung & @HeikoMaas recognize the independence of HongKong. #HongKongNeedsHelp #HongKongProtests

For the first time since the start of the corona pandemic, thousands have demonstrated in Hong Kong against China's influence in the special administrative region. The police used tear gas, pepper spray and water cannons. Dozens were arrested.

The protests on Sunday were triggered by Beijing's plans for a security law aimed at subversive and separatist activities in Hong Kong. Despite restrictions on corona gatherings, thousands took to the streets in the shopping areas of Causeway Bay and Wan Chai.

Some held banners that said, "Heaven will destroy the Chinese Communist Party". There have also been repeated calls for independence. A large number of security forces went against the demonstrators.

The protests continued in the evening. Radical activists threw shop windows. Because of the corona pandemic, distance rules that allow groups of a maximum of eight people actually apply in the densely populated Asian economic and financial metropolis.

Britain had leased Hong Kong from China for 150 years, first Hong Kong Island, later the Kowloon and New Territories. The agreement expired on June 30, 1997. The British handed over their crown colony to China.

The Chinese reformist Deng Xiaoping (1904-1997) invented the term “one country, two systems” as early as the 1980s to make the return of Hong Kong legally possible. "Two systems in one country are feasible and permissible," Deng said in 1982. "You shouldn't destroy the system on the mainland, neither should we destroy the other."

17. Januar 2020 OliverBienkowski

Unabhängigkeit von HongKong / Anti China Kampagne

Das Ende von Hongkong, wie man es kannte

China unternimmt erstmals rechtliche Schritte, um die ehemalige britische Kronkolonie zu unterwerfen. Damit belebt die chinesische Führung die Protestbewegung und fordert die westliche Welt heraus.

Der chinesische Volkskongress verabschiedet das Sicherheitsgesetz für #HongKong, das de facto “Ein Land, zwei Systeme” und Demokratie beerdigt. Lichtprojektion auf den Flagge von Deutschland #Bundestag #Bundesregierung & @HeikoMaas erkennen die Unabhängigkeit von HongKong an. #HongKongNeedsHelp #HongKongProtests

Erstmals seit Beginn der Corona-Pandemie haben in Hongkong wieder Tausende gegen den Einfluss Chinas in der Sonderverwaltungsregion demonstriert. Die Polizei setzte Tränengas, Pfefferspray und Wasserwerfer ein. Dutzende wurden festgenommen.

Auslöser der Proteste am Sonntag waren Pekings Pläne für ein Sicherheitsgesetz, das sich gegen subversive und separatistische Aktivitäten in Hongkong richtet. Trotz Beschränkungen für Versammlungen in der Corona-Krise gingen in den Einkaufsvierteln von Causeway Bay und Wan Chai Tausende auf die Straße.

Einige hielten Spruchbänder, auf denen unter anderem «Der Himmel wird die Kommunistische Partei Chinas zerstören» stand. Auch wurden wiederholt Rufe nach Unabhängigkeit laut. Ein Großaufgebot von Sicherheitskräften ging gegen die Demonstranten vor.

Die Proteste dauerten auch am Abend an. Radikale Aktivisten warfen Schaufenster ein. Wegen der Corona-Pandemie gelten in der dicht bevölkerten asiatischen Wirtschafts- und Finanzmetropole eigentlich Abstandsregeln, die Gruppen von höchstens acht Menschen erlauben.

150 Jahre lang hatte Großbritannien Hongkong von China gepachtet, zuerst die Hongkong-Insel, später die Stadtteile Kowloon und New Territorium. Die Vereinbarung lief am 30. Juni 1997 aus. Die Briten übergaben ihre Kronkolonie an China.

Der chinesische Reformpolitiker Deng Xiaoping (1904-1997) erfand schon in den 1980er Jahren den Begriff “Ein Land, zwei Systeme”, um die Rückkehr Hongkongs rechtlich möglich zu machen. “Zwei Systeme in einem Land sind machbar und zulässig”, sagte Deng 1982. “Sie sollen das System auf dem Festland nicht zerstören, wir sollen das andere auch nicht zerstören.”